Allegheny County

Allegheny County, in the heart of southwestern Pennsylvania, encompasses 130 municipalities; its county seat is the City of Pittsburgh. With a land area of 745 square miles, the county is home to approximately 1.3 million residents.

Allegheny County government operates under a Home Rule Charter that went into effect on January 1, 2000, providing for an elected County Executive and 15-member County Council. Other elected offices include Controller, District Attorney, Sheriff and Treasurer.

With an annual combined operating and capital budget of $1.8 billion, the county administers human services programs, provides emergency services, protects and promotes the health of county residents, promotes economic development, participates in the administration of justice and the conduct of elections, and maintains parks, roads and bridges.

Allegheny County's official web site is